364 … why young Israelis refuse to serve the army…

Bethlehem 22 april 2012

Beste mensen,

Vrede en alle Goeds.

De lucht flotilla ofwel de komst van mensen uit allerlei landen om Palestina te bezoeken onder het motto ‘Welcome in Palestine’, trok deze week veel aandacht. Het begon al in luchthavens als Brussel en Parijs, waar mensen, die voor de vlucht naar Tel Aviv hadden geboekt, niet aan boord mochten gaan op verzoek van Israëlische autoriteiten. Onder hen was ook een Franse diplomaat en zijn vrouw, wat ik in een van de berichten las.
Ik wil hier kanttekeningen bij plaatsen.

15. welcome to Palestine

 
Bethlehem April 22, 2012

Dear friends,

Peace and all good.

The air flotilla or the arrival of people from different countries to visit Palestine under the motto “Welcome in Palestine” attracted much attention this week. It started in airports such as Brussels and Paris, where people, who wanted to take the flight to Tel Aviv, were not allowed to board at the request of Israeli authorities. Among them were a French diplomat and his wife, what I read in one of the posts.
I want to make some comment.  




In de publiciteit leek het alsof actie tegen Israël gevoerd werd met voorbijgaan aan Israëliërs, die eveneens tegen de bezetting zijn. Ik verwijs bijvoorbeeld naar de volgende link:
→ december18th.org/.
Met deze link kun je zien en horen waarom jonge Israëliërs dienst weigeren. Zij verdienen in mijn ogen zeker ook alle steun.

Maar ik hoorde, dat ook Israëlische vredesactivisten aan de actie deelnamen. Deze actie krijgt vermoedelijk een vervolg in augustus met opnieuw de komst van vredesactivisten, maar dan meer gespreid over de maand, zodat de Israëlische veiligheidsdienst meer in touw moet zijn om de komst van deze mensen af te stoppen. Het lijkt zo een guerilla oorlog te worden.
Voor mij blijft de cruciale vraagt, of deze acties op enig termijn verbetering voor de Palestijnen kan betekenen.

Er zijn afgelopen week vele kleine zaken gebeurd. Zo ben ik met het orthodox Paasfeest naar de overkant van de vallei geweest om orthodoxe vrienden een zalig Paasfeest te wensen. Het viel me op, dat op een gegeven moment tien familieleden binnen kwamen vallen om het gezin, dat ik bezocht, een zalig Paasfeest te wensen. Ze dronken wat, kregen een ei en na tien minuten stapten zij weer op, net zoals bij een condoleance bezoek gebeurt. In zo’n situatie heb je twee buitendeuren nodig: door de ene laat je het bezoek binnen en dan leid je ze door het huis naar de andere deur om het huis weer te verlaten, onderweg van alles toestoppend. Zo’n beleefdheidsbezoek nodigt niet tot echt contact uit. Ik had er overigens profijt van, want ik wilde ook vertrekken. Ik kon met een van de auto’s meerijden tot Beit Sahour.

Afgelopen zondag kregen we hoog bezoek uit Rome: de minister generaal was in het land.

Ilijah Zivkovic, Minister General


De volgende dag zou hij weer vertrekken, maar volgende week zondag is hij met het hele bestuur weer in het land om samen spiritueel op verhaal te komen. Zij komen dan ook in Bethlehem.

Afgelopen dinsdag was het de dag van de Palestijnse gevangenen in Israëlische gevangenissen. Die dag was er ook een rechtszitting van Mohanad. Zijn moeder is er heen geweest. Toen ik de familie bezocht, was zij nog niet terug, want er waren problemen bij de container checkpoint. Ik hoorde dat Mohanad was veroordeeld tot 7 maanden gevangenisstraf en het betalen van een boete van NIS 1500 ofwel 300 euro zonder enig bewijsmateriaal.

Maandag en dinsdag bezochten wij als communiteit de Grieks Orthodoxe en de Armeens Orthodoxe broeders.

06. visit to the Greek Orthodox monks


Bij het laatste bezoek werd mij iets meer duidelijk over de jaarlijkse botsing na ons kerstfeest tussen beide Orthodoxe groepen. Er liggen allerlei problemen op tafel, waarbij naar ik vermoed, wij zelf niet vrijuit gaan.

Ik had van de week een paar onverwachte ontmoetingen. Toen ik dinsdagavond huiswaarts keerde, kwam ik een vrouw uit Battir met haar moeder tegen. Zij is in mijn ogen een hoogstaande vrouw, die ik al vele jaren ken. Het is een plezier om haar te ontmoeten.

Woensdag bezocht ik de familie Owaineh, omdat de moeder jarig was. Ik hoopte Mohammed te treffen, maar hij was er niet. Toen ik weg wilde gaan, stond hij juist voor de deur, zodat ik langer bleef en een genoeglijk gesprek met hem had. De kinderen bereidden een feestje voor hun moeder.

Op weg naar huis hoorde ik ineens een kind mij roepen. Dat was vanuit een raam op de eerste verdieping van een restaurant. Het was Emanuel, die ik afgelopen Kerst voor het eerst ontmoette, toen zijn moeder mij mee liet rijden naar de Schaapherdersvelden voor de Kerstviering.
Ik heb reden mij om de jongen zorgen te maken. Zijn ouders zijn gescheiden en met zijn vader heeft hij alleen telefonisch contact. Hij toont tegenover mij hechtingsgedrag, wat voor mij verantwoordelijkheid meebrengt. Ik denk, dat ik de situatie wel overzie en weet wat het kan betekenen.

Donderdag had ik een gesprek met Mike een Franse vrouw. Ik hoorde, dat er 3 miljoen Arabische woorden zijn, die niet meer gebruikt worden. Dit is heel opmerkelijk en laat zien wat voor een rijke taal het Arabisch is. Verder hoorde ik dat het Arabisch voortgekomen is uit het Aramees, dat alleen nog in twee Syrische dorpen gesproken wordt. Het ene dorp is Moslim en het andere Christelijk.

Van de week is het proces tegen Anders B. begonnen vanwege zijn waanzinnige aanslag vorig jaar zomer in Oslo. Ik heb gezien hoe hij emotie toonde tijdens de vertoning van een film, die hij gemaakt heeft. Dit versterkte mijn opvatting, dat zijn kernprobleem de hechting is. Het was alsof de film zijn ‘kindje’ was, waaraan hij zich gehecht heeft bij gebrek aan alternatief.

Ik zag op Al Jazeera in the Stream een discussieprogramma over Palestijnse vluchtelingen in Arabische landen, die daar gediscrimineerd worden: Since the establishment of the state of Israel, the number of Palestinians living in Arab countries has grown to nearly five million. They are often denied citizenship, and have few legal or economic rights in their host countries.
Many point to a failure of integration as the root cause of such discrimination. Arab host governments claim this is done to maintain pressure for the “right of return.”

Een ander aardig programma was ‘Talk to Al Jazeera’, waarin → Amal al-Malki, een schrijfster uit Qatar erover spreekt waarom Arabische vrouwen geen stem hebben.

Ik stuur weer bijlagen mee. Er is een actie bij van Een Ander Joods geluid om Israël te stoppen met het isoleren van Palestijnse kinderen in Israëlische gevangenissen. Je kunt hier nog aan meedoen.

Een andere bijlage is een oproep aan Israël en de wereld om de Holocaust voor politieke doeleinden te gebruiken. Er is een bijlage, die gaat over Joods Paasfeest in het licht van de bezetting van Palestijns gebied. Kortom, er is genoeg leesvoer.

Groeten uit Bethlehem,

Louis

PS De ING rekening 1033896 van het Provincialaat der Minderbroeders, Deken Roesstraat 13, 3581 RX Utrecht wordt in de toekomst opgeheven.
Wilt u voor uw giften alleen nog maar de ABN-AMRO Bank rekening 41.62.44.181 doorgegeven voor het ontvangen van uw giften.
Het IBAN nummer is NL52ABNA0416244181 en de BIC is ABNANL2A.
Tnv Ned. Provincie v.d. Orde der Minderbroeders, Utrecht
Mijn bankrekening loopt bij Triodosbank: 212190563 t.n.v. A.A.F.M. Bohte
IBAN NL96 TRIO 0212 1905 63
BIC TRIONL2U  

The publicity seemed to be an action against Israel while ignoring Israelis, who are also against the occupation. For example, I refer to the following link:
→ december18th.org/.
With this link you can see and hear why young Israelis refuse to serve the army. They certainly deserve in my eyes every support.

Name: Alon Gurman, Age: 19, Location: Tel Aviv
Why I am one of the Shministim:
“ My refusal to serve in the Israeli military, in addition to being a refusal to take part in occupation and apartheid, is an act of solidarity with our Palestinian friends living under Israeli regime, and those who bravely choose to struggle against it.”
The army is attempting to release him on mental health, he was sent home awaiting a re-call to the army.


But I heard that Israeli peace activists took part in the action. This action will probably be continued in August with again the arrival of peace activists, but more spread over the month, so Israeli security must be more rope to the arrival of these people to stop. It seems to become a guerilla war.
For me, the crucial question is, if these actions realize at any time improvement for the Palestinians.

There are many little things happened last week. So I went with the Orthodox Easter to the other side of the valley to visit Orthodox friends and to wish them a blessed Easter. It struck me that at a certain moment ten family members arrived to wish the family that I visited, a blessed Easter. They had drinks, got an egg and after ten minutes they got up again, just like it happen for a condolence visit. In this situation you need two exterior doors: one to let the visit in and then lead you through the house to the other door to leave the house, while giving them all kind of things. Such a visit is not an invitation to have really contact. I had meanwhile benefited from, because I wanted to leave. I got a ride with one of the cars to Beit Sahour.

Last Sunday we had important visitors from Rome, the Secretary General was in the country. The next day he would leave again, but next week he is with the whole board back in the Holy Land for a spiritual visit. They are therefore in also Bethlehem.

Last Tuesday was the day of Palestinian prisoners in Israeli jails.

07. for the prisoners day

That day there was a trial of Mohanad. His mother went there. When I visited the family, she was not back yet, because there were problems at the container checkpoint. I heard that Mohanad was sentenced to 7 months in prison and pay a fine of NIS 1500 or 300 Euros without any evidence.

Monday and Tuesday as a community we visited the Greek Orthodox and Armenian Orthodox brethren.

11. visit to the Armenian Orthodox monks


At the last visit I got a little bit clearer about the annual Christmas collision between two Orthodox groups after our Christmas. There are all sorts of problems on the table, for which I wonder if we are also a part of it.

Of the week I had a few surprising encounters. When I returned home Tuesday evening, I met a woman from Battir with her mother. She is in my opinion a terrific woman whom I know for many years. It is a pleasure to meet her.

Wednesday I visited the family Owaineh, because it was the mother’s birthday. I was hoping to see Muhammad, but he was not there. When I was about to leave, he stood just outside the door, so I stayed longer and had a pleasant conversation with him. The children prepared a party for their mother.
On the way home I suddenly heard a child calling me. That was from a window on the first floor of a restaurant. It was Emanuel, whom I first met last Christmas, when his mother let me go with them to the Shepherd Fields for the Christmas celebration.
I have reason to worry about the boy. His parents are divorced and with his father, he has only telephone contact. He shows attachment behavior towards me, which to me implies responsibility. I think I do overlook the situation and know what it might mean.

Thursday I had a conversation with Mike a French woman. I heard that 3 million Arabic words which are no longer used. This is quite remarkable and shows what a rich language Arabic is. Furthermore, I heard that Arabic is derived from Aramaic, which only is spoken in two Syrian villages. One village is Muslim and one Christian.

This week the process began against Anders B. because of his insane attack last summer in Oslo. I have seen how he showed emotion during the showing of a film he made. This reinforced my belief that his main problem is the attachment. It was as if the movie was his ‘little child’, to which he has attached by lack of an alternative.

I saw on Al Jazeera in the Stream a discussion about Palestinian refugees in Arab countries, who are discriminated: Since the establishment of the state of Israel, the number of Palestinians living in Arab countries has grown to nearly five million. Often they are denied citizenship, and have few legal or economic rights in their host countries.
Many point to a failure of integration as the root cause of Such Discrimination. Arab host Governments claim this is done to maintain pressure for the “right of return.”

→ ajstream/palestinian-refugees-comments-and-questions

Another nice program was “Talk to Al Jazeera, which → Amal al-Malki, a writer from Qatari about why Arab women have no voice.

I send attachments. There is an action of Another Jewish Voice for Israel to stop the isolation of Palestinian children in Israeli prisons. Another appendix is ​​a call to Israel and the world to the Holocaust for political purposes. There is an attachment, which is about Passover in the light of the occupation of Palestinian territory. In short, there is plenty of reading material.

Greetings from Bethlehem,

Louis 

© 2012 Louis Bohte

© 2012 Louis Bohte








attachments:

1 Pesach Sameach SIVMO.doc



back to menu attachments

2 Brief_Uri_Rosenthal__Palestijnse_Kinderen__April_2012 (1).pdf



back to menu attachments

3 Israeli official flotilla.doc



back to menu attachments

4 BTselem.doc



back to menu attachments

5 Actie verlengd.doc



back to menu attachments

6 Israeli and world leaders must stop using the Holocaust for political goals.doc



back to menu attachments

Over louisbohte
Ik ben een minderbroeder in de voettappen van Franciscus van Assisi en woon in Bethlehem naast de Geboortekerk. Ik ben verantwoordelijk voor Vrede, Gerechtigheid en Eerbied voor de Schepping voor de Minderbroeders in het Heilige Land. Ik ben manager van de Hiphopper Hajj MC. Ik ondersteun jonge Palestijnen met hun studie naar vermogen.

Reacties zijn gesloten.