419 abuse of children – and bad news today from Ghassanieh (Syria)

Bethlehem 23 juni 2013
Beste mensen,
Vrede en alle Goeds.

Een populair TV programma in de Arabische wereld is Arab Idol. Vrijdagavond was de finale tussen 4 kandidaten uit verschillende Arabische landen waaronder Palestina en wel uit Gaza. Zijn naam is Mohammed Assaf. Hij is hier heel populair, want hij geeft aan de Palestijnen een positief gezicht ondanks alle ellende, zeker in Gaza. Gisteravond hoorde ik auto’s toeterend rondrijden, waardoor ik feitelijk al wist dat hij gewonnen had.

Bethlehem June 23, 2013
Dear people,
Peace and all good.

A popular TV program in the Arab world is Arab Idol. Friday night was the final between four candidates from various Arab countries including Palestine namely from Gaza. His name is Mohammed Assaf. He is very popular here as he gives to the Palestinians positive face despite all the misery, especially in Gaza. Last night I heard honking cars driving around, so I actually already knew he had won.

Vrijdagavond en gisteravond hing er een scherm waren er vele stoelen beschikbaar om de competitie te volgen op het kribbe plein. Er heerste een opgewonden sfeer.

Gisteravond zat ik op een paal, toen er een groepje kinderen om mij heen verzamelde, maar zo’n ster ben ik nu ook weer niet. Toen ik na een tijdje verder liep kwam een jongeman naar mij toe. Hij had mij een tijd gemist, want hij had zeven maanden in een Israëlische gevangenis gezeten vanwege het gooien van stenen. Hij wilde mij uitnodigen om thee te komen drinken en samen wat te eten. Maar ik moet bekennen, dat ik hem niet ken.

Het Kribbe plein leverde meer sociale activiteiten op. Ik maakte donderdagavond een rondje over het plein. Nu hangt er voor het Vredescentrum een groot doek, waarop veel geschilderd was. Met name vallen kerken en de Omar moskee in Jerusalem op. Dat is de moskee naast de Al Aqsa moskee, herkenbaar aan de gouden koepel. Ik sprak er een man, die benadrukte, dat het een schildering is voor Christenen en Moslims. Wij hadden het over vrede. Hij zei, dat vergeven hiertoe belangrijk is en geld een probleem is.
Aan het eind van het rondje betrok een jongetje van een jaar of 6 mij bij het balletje trappen, wat hij met een vriendje deed. Ik heb er een tijdje aan meegedaan. Bijna weer thuis trof ik een groep jongeren voor de Geboortekerk aan. Een vroeg mij om een foto van de hele groep te maken met een aardig mooie camera. Zo is een simpele wandeling de moeite waard.

Woensdag bracht ik een bezoek aan de familie van Mohanad. Hij was er niet, maar wel zijn jongere broer Moerad en de jongste: Afnan. Ik zat gezellig met Moerad voor de TV, soms wat kletsend. Het was iets, wat Moerad van genoot. Alleen voor de TV zittend is vervelend. Hij heeft nu vakantie en daarom weinig te doen. Volgend jaar doet hij zijn eindexamen.

’s Avonds gebeurde er iets opmerkelijks op het Kribbe plein. Toen ik rondliep – want ’s avonds is het aangenaam om buiten te zijn na de hitte van de dag – stond een man kennelijk te preken. Ik weet niet waarover, maar ik onderscheidde wel een paar keer ‘Hamas’. Hij trok voornamelijk jong publiek. Op een gegeven moment verzocht de politie hem mee te komen naar het bureau.

Ik heb van de week een paar keer een lift aangeboden gekregen. De eerste lift was van Al Doha naar Bethlehem en de tweede keer van Al Doha naar Deheisha kamp.

Vrijdag bezocht ik de eigenaar van mijn vroegere jongerencentrum. Hoewel de man er nog niet was, kon ik binnenkomen en werd door zijn vrouw en oudste dochter ontvangen. Een broer van de vrouw kwam later een kijkje nemen. Ik had wel van tevoren mijn komst aangekondigd.
Vol trots liet de tweede zoon, Shaban, zijn rapportcijfers zien. De meeste cijfers lieten meer dan 90 van de 100 maximale punten zien. Het ‘slechtst’ was Engels met 85 van de 100 punten. Het grappige is wel dat voor de lijst Romeinse cijfers worden gebruikt en niet de Arabische.

Sana heeft een probleem met haar school, waar zij les geeft. De directeur had kennelijk problemen met zijn financiën en betaalde daarom de leerkrachten slechts gedeeltelijk uit. Daar valt denk ik, weinig tegen te doen.
Zij vertelde, dat het haar gewoonte is om te doen wat zij beloofd heeft. dit is helaas niet de gewoonte onder Palestijnen. Hajj kan daar alles over vertellen.

Donderdag was ik bij de familie Owaineh. Ik hoorde dat de week ervoor moeder Owaineh met de twee jongsten, Anwar en Adel, naar Jerusalem is geweest. Voor Adel was het de eerste keer, dat hij daar was. Zij bezochten o.a. de Al Aqsa moskee en de Heilige Graf kerk.
De vijfde zoon, Ammar, studeert deze week af en heeft al een baan als vertaler bij het nieuwsagentschap Ma’an News. Zijn moeder wil wel, dat hij meteen zijn masters doet. Zij heeft gezien, wat voor problemen het geeft, als hij dat niet doet. Zo is zij als weduwe druk in de weer met de opvoeding van haar kinderen.

Wat betreft de verbouwing van de kerk is het afwachten hoe het uitpakt. Een knelpunt is, dat er weinig zorg voor het orgel is. Er hangt veel fijn stof in de lucht, wat gevolgen kan hebben voor het orgel. Nog niet alles van het orgel is afgedekt.

Gisteren bezocht ik de grootmoeder van de fotografe in spé. Zij heeft pas een vervelende val gemaakt. Voor haar is het wel prettig bezoek te hebben, want veel afleiding heeft zij niet.

Van de week is een rapport uitgekomen van de VN over de behandeling van Palestijnse kinderen in Israëlische gevangenissen. Zie hiervoor:

Friday night and last night a screen hung on the Manger Square and there were many seats available to follow the competition. There was an excited atmosphere.

Last night I was sitting on a pole, when a group of children gathered around me, but such a star I am not. When I walked on after a while a young man came to me. He had missed me a sometime, because he was imprisoned in an Israeli jail because of throwing stones for seven months. He wanted to invite me to come and drink tea together and somewhat to eat. But I must confess that I do not know him.

The Manger Square provided more social activities. Thursday night I made a lap around the Square. Now on the Peace Centre a large canvas hung, which was painted. In particular you can see churches and the Omar Mosque in Jerusalem. That is the mosque next to the Al Aqsa Mosque, recognizable by its golden dome. I spoke to a man, who emphasized that the painting is for Christians and Muslims. We were talking about peace. He said forgive purpose is important and money is a problematic issue.
At the end of the round a boy of 6 years involved me in kicking a ball, which he did with a boyfriend. I have participated for a while. Almost back home I met a group of young people in front of the Nativity. One asked me to make a picture of the whole group with a nice camera. Thus, a simple walk is worthwhile.

Wednesday I visited the family of Mohanad. He was not there, but his younger brother Murad and the younger Afnan. I was cozy with Murad watching TV, sometimes chatting. It was something that Murad enjoyed. Alone watching TV is annoying. He has now holiday and therefore little to do. Next year he is doing his graduation.

In the evening, something remarkable happened in the Manger Square. When I walked – because at night it is pleasant to be there after the heat of the day outside – was apparently a man preaching. I do not know what, but I made out a few times ‘Hamas’. He attracted mainly young audience. At one point the police asked him to come along to the office nearby.

This week I got offered a ride a few times. The first ride was from Al Doha to Bethlehem and the second time from Al Doha to Deheisha camp.

Friday I visited the owner of my former youth center. Although the man was not there, I could come and was received by his wife and eldest daughter. A brother of the woman came later to take a look. I had announced my arrival in advance.
Proudly the second son, Shaban, showed his report figures. Most figures showed more than 90 of the 100 maximum points. The ‘worst’ was English with 85 of the 100 points. The funny thing is that Roman numerals are used for the list and not the Arab.

Sana has a problem with her school where she teaches. The director apparently had problems with his finances and therefore paid the teachers only partially. There is, I think, little we can do.
She said that it was her habit to do what she promised. This is not the custom among Palestinians. Hajj can tell you all about it.

Thursday I was at the Owaineh family. I heard the week before mother Owaineh had been with the two youngest, Anwar and Adel, to Jerusalem. For Adel it was the first time he was there. Their visit included the Al Aqsa Mosque and the Holy Sepulcher Church.
The fifth son, Ammar, finishes his study this week, and already has a job as a translator at the news agency Ma’an News. His mother would that he immediately doing his masters. She has seen what problems it gives, if he does not. So she as a widow is busy with raising her children.

Regarding the renovation of the church it is waiting to see how it turns out. One problem is that there is little concern for the organ. There’s a lot of particulate matter in the air, which may affect the organ effects. Not the entire organ is covered.

Yesterday I visited the grandmother of the photographer in spe. She has recently taken a nasty fall. For her it is pleasant to have a visit, because she hasn’t to do much.

This week, a report has been released by the UN on the treatment of Palestinian children in Israeli jails. See:

Als bijlage stuur ik een pracht verhaal van een Amerikaanse schrijfster mee, dat spiritueel is en niets van doen heeft met politiek. Het is fascinerend om te lezen. Groeten uit een heet Bethlehem, Louis

Attached I send a beautiful story of an American writer along. It is spiritual and has nothing to do with politics. It is fascinating to read. Greetings from a hot Bethlehem, Louis

© 2013 Louis Bohte

===============================================================================
23 juni 2013 14:35

Peace and good!
I am forwarding the news that I just received from the Regional Minister. Father Francois is a Catholic hermit, who lives near our village of Ghassanieh and that in addition to helping in the ministry, most recently was with us in the convent for security. A prayer for all of them.
Fr Pierbattista ofm
Custos

M.Rev.Padre Guest, Rev.mo Custos …..
I’ve just received some bad news from Ghassanieh. The first version said that a bullet has entered the convent of our Ghassanieh and has killed his father Francois who was with our father Philip. The second version says that the rebels have entered the convent of our Ghassanieh to steal everything, they killed father Francois and stole everything that was in the convent.
Father Feras Lutfi who is replacing father Hanna in Kanaieh was able this afternoon to reach Ghassanieh. He has seen the destruction of all, the nuns frightened, the father Francois killed. He load the nuns with the corpse of the father Francois and return to Kanaieh. Today at five o’clock in the afternoon will make the funeral and burial of father Francois. These are the latest news.
I would like everyone to know that the West in supporting the revolutionary supports religious extremists, and helps to kill the Christians. In this step, no Christian will not remain in those parts.
Father Philip is tired of the situation is gone for a few days in Latachia, where he is now.
If I have ‘some other news or detail there I will’ know.

fr. Halim Noujaim
Louis Bohte

14:42 (2 uur geleden)

aan Louis

=============================================================================

© 2013 Louis Bohte

attachments:




*


*


Over louisbohte
Ik ben een minderbroeder in de voettappen van Franciscus van Assisi en woon in Bethlehem naast de Geboortekerk. Ik ben verantwoordelijk voor Vrede, Gerechtigheid en Eerbied voor de Schepping voor de Minderbroeders in het Heilige Land. Ik ben manager van de Hiphopper Hajj MC. Ik ondersteun jonge Palestijnen met hun studie naar vermogen.

Reacties zijn gesloten.