546 With the custos

with the Custos-page0001

with the Custos-page0001

Jerusalem 12 juni 2016

Beste mensen,

Vrede en alle Goeds.

Afgelopen zondag werd het begin van de zesdaagse oorlog in 1967 herdacht.

Jerusalem June 12, 2016

Dear friends,

Peace and all good.

Last Sunday commemorated the start of the Six Day War in 1967.

Opmerkelijk was, dat hiervoor de Westerse kalender werd gebruikt. Gewoonlijk wordt alle herdenkingsdagen de Joodse kalender gebruikt, zoals de onafhankelijkheid van Israël op 15 mei in 1948 op 11 mei werd gevierd. Zie ook de foto bij de Damascus poort.

Israëliërs trokken door de straten van de oude stad, ook door de Moslim wijk onder begeleiding van soldaten van het leger. Zie bijlage.

Maandag was er de intocht van de nieuwe Custos in Jerusalem, in ons klooster. Het viel mij op, dat hij rustig en helder praat. Er waren veel vertengewoordigers van kerken en burgerlijke samenleving aanwezig. De Custos bekleedt dan ook een vooraanstaande functie in het Heilig Land.

Donderdag was er de intocht in Bethlehem, waar ik ook bij aanwezig was. De gardiaan had een cadeau voor de nieuwe custos.
Wat ik leuk vond, was dat er na de intocht een vrouw naar mij toekwam, die mijn artikel in het blad van de Custodie over onze wereld had gelezen en het er mee eens was

Maandag ook begon de vastenmaand Ramadan. Opmerkelijk, dat intocht en Ramadan samenvielen. Dat gebeurt alleen bij hoge uitzondering, als het al een keer eerder gebeurd is.

Woensdag heb ik de eerste Iftar maaltijd genoten bij de familie Owaineh.

14. Iftar meal

14. Iftar meal

Ik kon hierbij ook kennis maken met de verloofde van Mohammed, Nour ofwel Licht geheten. Zij woont nog in Jerusalem, vlak bij Ramallah.

Donderdag heb ik mijn Iftar maaltijd bij de familie Al Azza gekregen. Het was net als de avond ervoor gezellig en smakelijk.

Vrijdag, de derde dag op rij, was ik bij de familie van Shorouq en Yihya. Voordat ik hen bezocht, was ik bij Mohanad, die vlakbij woont. Ik hoorde van hem, dat hij het iedere dag moeilijk heeft bij de zogeheten container checkpoint op weg naar zijn universiteit in Abu Dis.

Van alle studenten worden de persoonskaarten gecontroleerd. Hij staat genoteerd als iemand, die drie keer in een Israëlische gevangenis heeft gezeten. Ik heb hem gestimuleerd om creatief met de situatie om te gaan en niet te vervallen in een woorden strijd, dat werkt niet. Maar ik weet niet, of hem dit lukt.

Vanmorgen werden hier kloosterjubilea en priesterjubilea gevierd. Kloosterjubilea betreft dan het aantal jaren geprofest zijn.

with the Custos-page0001

with the Custos

Voor mij gold, dat ik 50 jaar geprofest ben. Dat gebeurt dan met een eucharistieviering, waarbij alle aanwezige priesters in ornaat komen opdraven. Dat charmeert mij niet. Franciscus schreef in zijn brief aan de hele orde, dat, als er meer priesters zijn, een voorgaat en de andere de viering bijwonen. Dat trekt mij meer aan. Ik hield mij meer op de achtergrond.

Als bijlage stuur ik verder mee: een bijdrage van Rabbi Lerner bij het overlijden van Mohammed Ali en een actie van het Israëlische leger om Palestijnen op te pakken voor daglicht.

Groeten uit Jerusalem, Louis

It was remarkable that was used the Western calendar for this purpose. Usually all memorial days using the Jewish calendar, such as Israel’s independence on May 15 in 1948 was celebrated on May 11. See also a picture near Damascus gate.

Israelis marched through the streets of the old town, including the Muslim Quarter, accompanied by soldiers of the army. See Attachment.

Monday was the entry of the new Custos Jerusalem, in our monastery. It struck me that he talks calmly and clearly. There were many representatives of churches and civil society there.

07. the new Custos embraces a friar

07. the new Custos embraces a friar

The Custos then occupies a leading position in the Holy Land.
Thursday was the arrival in Bethlehem, where I was also present. The guardian had a gift for the new Custos.

What I liked was that there came to me a woman after the entry, who had read my article in the magazine of the Custody about our world and she was agree
Monday also the fasting month of Ramadan began. Remarkably, entry and Ramadan coincided. That only happens in exceptional circumstances, if it has happened once before.

Wednesday I enjoyed the first Iftar meal at the Owaineh family. I could then also meet the fiancée of Mohammed, Nour either called Light. She still lives in Jerusalem, near Ramallah.

Thursday I got my Iftar meal at the family Al Azza. It was just like the night before, warm and tasty.

32. Iftar meal

32. Iftar meal

Friday, the third day in a row, I was with the family of Shorouq and Yihya. Before I visited them, I was at Mohanad, who lives nearby. I heard from him that he is struggling every day to the so-called container checkpoint on his way to university in Abu Dis.

From all students the individual ID’s are controlled. He is listed as one who has spent three times in an Israeli prison. I encouraged him to get creative with the situation to go and not to fall into a fight words, it does not work. But I do not know whether he succeeds this.

This morning were celebrated monastery anniversaries and priestly anniversaries. For the monastery anniversaries counts the number of years professed.
For me, it was that I am professed 50 years. This is done with a Eucharistic celebration in which all the priests present will turn up in regalia. Not that charms me. Francis wrote in his letter to the entire order, that if there are more priests, one presides and the other to attend the celebration. This attracts me more. I kept me more in the background.

Enclosed I submit further with a contribution of Rabbi Lerner on the death of Muhammad Ali and action of the Israeli army to pick up Palestinians before dawn.

Greetings from Jerusalem, Louis

© 2016 Louis Bohte

© 2016 Louis Bohte







attachments:

1 in Jerusalem, Eve of Ramadan Marked by Extremist Israelis’ Racist Taunts


View this document on Scribd

back to menu attachments

2 Israeli Forces Detain 7 Palestinians in Predawn Raids Across West Bank, East Jerusalem


View this document on Scribd

back to menu attachments

3 Rabbi Lerner Invited to Speak at Muhammad Ali’s Memorial Service


View this document on Scribd

back to menu attachments

space:

Reacties zijn gesloten.